My thoughts and experiences on food and wine and other things

Bag for “Life” !

In Blablabla, Cutting Edge, Food, Travel on January 27, 2012 at 23:23

Entitled “Eco Cooker with bags of potential”………. is a report , not an article.

Not one I wrote nor witnessed but One I read , One I felt and long (enough) thought about.

Named the “Wonderbag” , this kitchen utensil build and created by Sarah Collins , is formed around hundreds of balls of recycled polystyrene and will allow oneself bringing a stew to boiling point before wrapping it with the “device” or insulated “bag” that will permit the aliment a continuous slow cooking without the need of any further gas or electricity use….. that’s right , imagine?!

£5 , that is all it cost.

Not a mere saving on any energy bills , thus of course without the mention of the care and love , provided in all parallel to the sweetest mother of them all ……. Mother nature.

(risky , I know , I may from now be deprived from all my favourite dishes every other opportunity I may visit my family , but I am prepared placing such highly “essential need” that my love for my mother’s food consumption is to me , aside……… hoping that in return , her maternal love for her very hungry and gourmand son will have been forgiven , “pardoned”)

Dramatic ?

Cryptic ?

I do not care , no one touches Planet Earth!

And of course as my thoughtful mind does usually takes me to places where only questions are asked , this strange but wonderful land of “why’s” and “how’s” , sunshine and rain , melodies and cranky noises , I do not see “me” without alternative requesting reply from this invisible force , this stranger of a man on bicycle , running errand in my cranial box … whoops, slippery around here , where am I going with this ?!

I’d rather ask you … where are we heading , are we , are you adapting to these changes?

Could this same love for food amongst other , be at the origin of our need of nowadays playing catch up with nature  ?)


Taking its origin from our ancestor cooking in the ground method , it has not only created over 8000 jobs in South Africa alone but is supported by the UN , Unilever and ……….. no other than Microsoft.

Originally created for the southern continent , demand has made it available in the Uk ,  Asia and South America

Facts are , that (Wonderbag) it has already found home in 150 000 household in Africa alone , wishing not only to expand , but to also reach record sales of up to 100 millions by the year 2015….

And by 2020 ? Everyone on the planet should and WILL use one!

Lets give it the “thumb” (coup de pouce), shall we?!

Leave a Reply

