My thoughts and experiences on food and wine and other things

Un Gratin de Fruits Arrosés

In Blablabla, Food, Travel on October 1, 2011 at 07:59

Bob Law’s painting from the 70’s , a large 9′ by 7′ foot canvas entitled “Nothing to Be afraid of” is at the summum of the minimalism , the apotheosis of what one may not have as return for his monies….

Considering the art represented hereby , I am trying , and you will understand why this is causing me hardship , into juxtaposing the idea to what would be a plate or dish presented before my eyes at supper time (question mark arising)

But enough for an introduction that could lead us into loosing our mind by pretending to have become suddenly “the” art critics , having had for training only , the right way of peeling a “legume” and its numerous possible cooking methods …. ha

As various project in the pipelines have not just stopped me from adding my words onto these pages but rather given me different perspectives into a chefs life , career and possible choice , I am and endeavour bringing soon to your attention , products picked and noticed along the way as per my long-lasting habit , but also anecdotes and news which I always very much enjoy sharing hereby.

My only short time in the Alsace region this summer has unfortunately not allowed me to return with more than a few jars of home made jams. As well , regional and home made of course ‘Eau de vie de Mirabelle ” was also to be found in my luggage …..this beverage will allow me to flambé a few gratins of the same fruit before topping with a scoop of a delicious ice cream and covering my bowl with a sabayon ready for gratin. Tucking into this so very annoyingly simple dish will once more allow me and my guest to travel rapidly as if hovering the “plaines” and “valllees” of the area left behind , in fact it is as if I had never returned from its grounds.

Today , to be taken lightly please , as we gently prepare to step onto the sandy beach of the British Isle I may show and testify that perhaps sometime very soon you may come across a bottle of extra virgin olive oil labelled “Product of London”. Indeed , as just around the corner , you will not loose yourself into an “Oliveraie” as found in a modest number only , but the mediterranean tree that has provided us with its nectar for thousands of years is now to be found in the street of London , growing , maturing and proving to be giving the chances it deserve to its fruits as does its Italian , Greek , Tunisian and Spanish cousin from the “basin”. I simply cannot wait …..

Growing your own mushrooms is something that perhaps your patience will allow you to do , whether it is by “recycling” and old book as it is marvellously put or hanging a ” log” made for the purpose and found under the form of a “Kit” , germinated and ready for you to simply await for its fruiting after about 2 to 3 weeks. What may be found in markets stalls is always astonishing me , the never-ending force of renew and creativity ….

Voila, perhaps you will now feel the necessity harvesting your own crop of shitake for your next stir fry , spending you pocket money (a mere £60 000) into a canvas that will probably become the subject of many conversations at the table or giving me a phone call so to taste and feel , in practice , my thoughts and emotions when scooping one of my greatest favourite dessert “arrosed” with my homeland’s blood.

Whatever the butterflies in your stomach are telling you , do not forget to keep them at ease and fed and educated with a number of flavour thus as per our numerous choices we may only find ourselves lucky enough to have to take a pick from.

Leave a Reply

