My thoughts and experiences on food and wine and other things

Ding…Ding…Round Two!

In Blablabla, Food, Travel on February 24, 2011 at 18:40

“J’ai la plume qui me demange” and literally translated this would very nicely give you the following sentence: “I have the feather tickling me” and you would of course and automatically start wondering if I suddenly had gone bonkers. Pas du tout! s’exclame-t-il! As I am receiving from time to time, a pretty little comment about this page , thus motivating and giving me the thirst finding more and more new products and wonky eating items, various habits or rare chocolate with bubbly design….etc.  So I ask, here and there, keeping pictures and saving them for later , building myself a little library until Bam,  Ba-Da-Bing, It is starting with my shoulder and elbow becoming as if they were not attached to the rest of my body (I know, Sci-fi sounding like, but so is Ze mood today) vibrating and pulling my torso toward my keyboard, an attraction, a smile? this would be asking for too much …….gosh I am loving it, I have found myself the best way of expressing myself and here I am , spreading my thought instead of deliberating about food. But , hang on a minute , does the title not say “My Love, thoughts and experiences on food and travel and other things”? Here is you alibi my dear chef, as if you had planned this ahead meticulously, covering every bit of your story telling blog page……..Que Neni! I have indeed pictures and new products I am of course coming across almost every single day….Could you for one second imagine this possible lets say 10 years ago? It is there to be seized and it is moving so fast nowadays!

Lets certainly not forget all our emotions felt while staring at the “Tarte aux Myrtilles” still smoking and warm coming right out of the oven, so are the sensations expressed at the table when breaking loose the pastry on the Backeoffe dish that has been “Lutte” for better sealing before going to be licked by the flames amongst the crackling woods of the baker’s oven “a l’ancienne” for the next few longest but well deserved hours…..not to be seen in every kitchen I am aware but the dream of having such “Festin” is beyond me……this is what bring my hands, arms and everything found afterwards to this set of keys marked as if I was standing before a game of scrabble, shuffled and ready to be put in order , so to speak…

Marmite Cereal Bars is my very first item I would like to bring to the table, ahem, no, beware, not litterally.The idea of combining cereals and the famous paste is something that does not particularly attracts me , however, I have had a few toasts of the devilish black spread in my days  and remembering its taste now revives a few memories, not unpleasant , but certainly not the ones one does not need to accustom himself to, before accepting its taste and letting things go down, lets say , with the same aisance as a toast covered with cream cheese and lovely pinkish Scottish Wild smoked salmon, sprinkled with fresh lemon juice and of course a good turn of black peppercorn over it……..but it is there, original, for the originals? I like seeing it on the shelves, it is a legacy and belongs exactly there, as I am the foreigner and the odd one in this shop !

Sahlep is my second. Coming from Turkey, its name is a derivative from the Arabic word Sahlap (meaning Orchid) as it is originally produced with the roots of various species of orchid (starch giving smooth and distinctive texture to the drink as well as flavour) which are now becoming rare and protected in the whole of Turkey. The nation has seriously curtailed its exports for this reason hence the finding of its generic abroad made of milk powder and cinnamon as it has fervent consumer in the four corners of the world. As a rapid note, Sahlep was briefly enjoyed in Europe in and around 1600 as a fascination with the Orient took place at that time and rose-water was often added to the hot drink, trend  and fashion it became but rapidly disappeared from our tables until today.

On the same note (ish) we have Kewra, the distilled male flowers of “Pandanus Odoratissimus”, used into various Indian dishes, sweet or savouries such as many pastries like Rasgula or as a substitute to rosewater in Rasmalai but also to flavour basmati rice and found into Nasi Kuning (Indonesia). Its leaf is often “knotted” and placed into the cooking stocks so it pungeant aroma is used to fragrant  dishes and give them what is only known to the cook equiped/skilled with its “secret” knowledge.

I will only and simply end this post by daring anyone taking a bite of the cereal bar mentioned above and to return to me with a comment, not just any comment , it will have to be constructive , it will have to convince me wether you liked it or not. I guess the rethorical “challenge” if I may say, is or may well be taken by anyone , this is one product I will not tuck my teeth into as I would rather bite into a round and juicy apple for my breakfast of course preceeded by a toasted half baguette with the confiture de “Maman” ,very carefully brought back the last travel to my native Alsace, and leave this up for you to dare. Once more, I do consider having done my work by providing you with “rare” and unusual item…………Wether you love them or hate them 🙂

Leave a Reply

